Close

Do I need a newer MAC??

Share tips and tricks related to Sighthound Video or your full security setup.

Moderator: Staff

no avatar
JesseS

Do I need a newer MAC??

by JesseS » Thu Mar 05, 2020 3:20 pm

Hello All, I have been running SHV for two years and decided to add more cameras. I am running SHV 6 on a dedicated iMAC 2.4Ghz quad core i5 with plenty of memory, only software on the system running. When I added the 8th camera (all 1080p) I started getting video drop outs on differnt cameras, video would drop out then reconnect. I am thinking the video card just can't keep up, it is a AMD Radon HD6750M and only has 512 MB memory. I checked CPU usage and it is pretty much maxed out as well, this is a really process intensive program. Don't know if I should switch to a gaming PC with a high end CPU & GPU (cheaper but the fans drive me nuts) or another MAC..... any thoughts?

Semper Vaporo

Re: Do I need a newer MAC??

by Semper Vaporo » Sun Mar 08, 2020 8:00 am

A new, more powerful computer is almost always a good idea. But SH is not using as much of a video card as one might think. Most of the processing is done with the CPU. The Video card is better for handling the calculations required for computer generated "object" (such as the mouse arrow or animations of menus opening, or space aliens dropping down from the top, etc.) than raw "real, live" video (such as video from cameras where the task is to detect "significant" changes in the scene from one frame to the next).

As for the CPU; the more "Cores" (individual computers on the main "chip") the better (a quad-core is better than a dual-core) and multi-threading is a close second for being able to run more processes at the same time.